Consuming a raft of influences which range from Devin Townsend and Tool through to Kraftwerk and Russian Circles, as well as keenly digesting the poetry of Virginia Woolf and Jim Morrison, THE CHRONICLES OF MANIMAL AND SAMARA (TCOMAS) commendably fill a void in music by melding literature and history together into an arena where rock and metal meets electronica. The immensely fascinating UK based duo are comprised of Daphne Ang (who originally hailed from Singapore) and Andrea Papi (who was born in Italy). The two-piece came together in London at the start of 2020 to record their debut album, Full Spectrum, which arrived to the public domain early 2021. To date, TCOMAS have established themselves as a formidable collaborative, producing nine very well-received singles and music videos.

The diligent pairing stride forward with the release of their brand-new sophomore album, Trust No Leaders, on 1st July. The progressive hard-hitters have also just dropped the single, The Chefs Song, with a captivating music video following on 8th April. The record expresses a more aggressive side to the band, and was recorded last Summer at TCOMAS’ studio in Camden Town, London. The album features eleven stinging tracks culminating in a running time of nearly forty minutes. It’s a record that sends the listener on a weaving voyage through heavy metal history — from its roots in the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, right through to the present day. The band remark about the motivation behind the album: “The current crisis and the events of our time have made it necessary for us to analyse, investigate, and expose the issues in urgent need of systemic change by looking inwards into the human condition. We wanted the album to be a beacon of hope for making a future that prioritises people and the environment.”

With a killer album in tow and a clutch of singles on the way, THE CHRONICLES OF MANIMAL AND SAMARA are set to continue to engage and capture more minds and hearts with their potent ethos.

Trust No Leaders, album track listing: 1. Human Sacrifice, 2. The Prophet, 3. Pound of Flesh, 4. Shaman, 5. The Chefs Song, 6. The Pied Piper, 7. Nothing but Dust, 8. Count the Dead, 9. Smell of Your Rot, 10. Hypermetamorphosis, 11. Scum of the Land.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top