CIVIL VILLAINS return with their engulfing debut album, Motion Sick, out Friday 26th May. The Brit alt-rockers have also released their brand new single and video, Mortuary Blue, out now.

Ever since their inception in 2016, Londoners CIVIL VILLAINS have done things differently. Embodying influences that run from Queens Of The Stone age, Refused, and Fugazi, through to David Bowie and Tom Waits, the alternative crew express a sound that warps genre, and constantly pushes the envelope. Possessing a live show that has seen the trio share stages with Listener, Poly-Math, Bellevue Days, Kid Kapichi, and many others, CIVIL VILLAINS also have a potent DIY ethos and unbridled devotion to their art, as evidenced by their ability to arrange two North American tours (which included headline shows in Toronto and Cambridge, MA), festival performances in Quebec City and New York City, and dates in Seattle and Vancouver.

In addition to a gargantuan appetite for playing live, the threesome are also acquiring a potent back catalogue of releases. Their debut EP, Snake Oil, was recorded at Bear Bites Horse Studios, and a string of singles were also produced at Brighton Electric with Josh Harrison (Royal Blood). The success of these releases has helped pave the way and lay the base for the band’s debut full-length album.

CIVIL VILLAINS’ eagerly awaited album, Motion Sick, has enabled the trio to truly shine, showcasing the full spectrum of their songwriting prowess. Cut at Shaken Oak Studios by Mike Bannard (Foals, Glass Animals), the album is the accumulation of creative endeavors that have orbited around the band for many years, meticulously constructed and shaped into a body of work that is truly impressive. CIVIL VILLAINS remark about the record: “Like the nauseating sensory mismatch experienced from the passenger seat, ‘Motion Sick’ is largely about contradictory states and lost control. Born as a series of voice notes, written over webcam, developed via shared Logic Pro projects, and honed in snatched moments of lifted lockdowns, the album was recorded in the rolling countryside expanses of Oxfordshire.” Live performances and festival dates will be announced during the coming months, so brace yourself, and get ready for CIVIL VILLAINS’ year of dominance.  

Album track listing: 01. Funeral Rouge, 02. Mortuary Blue, 03. Bayou Autonomy, 04. Cornerstore, 05. Elysium, 06. Anaesthesia Whores, 07. Skip Town, 08. Present Tense, 09. Petrichor, 10. Nightbloom, 11. Cavalier Blonde, 12. Never Leave.

Scroll to Top