Swedish alternative metal act Aviana have released a video for the new single ‘Obsession’, out now via Arising Empire. See it here.

‘Obsession’ toys with a dark vibe, as the band tell a story weaved around the subject of mental health issues. Joel Holmqvist explains: “The lyrics of this song are a bit more to the emotional side and about a subject that I personally feel we should talk a lot more about. We wanted to visualise that not only with the lyrics but also bring it to life in the video.”


Over the last couple of years, many people experienced dark times and suffered great loss. Joel Holmqvist, vocalist of Swedish metalcore act Aviana, was one of those people. Despite the successful release of their sophomore album Epicenter via Arising Empire in 2019, all his former bandmates declared they were leaving Aviana in March 2020.

Holmqvist quickly realised that he was not done with Aviana and decided to continue with the project himself. Throughout the pandemic, he has gathered strength to build something new and special – the next chapter of Aviana. Today, however, Aviana reveals four new, masked and unknown individuals who join Holmqvist to complete the band.

Aviana’s new sound is heavier than ever before and offers a taste of what’s to come, Holmqvist assures.“I’m building this up with the new Aviana now. There’s a new chapter, a new story and a new era coming!” he concludes.


Aviana are on tour in March 2022 with Kill The Lights and Imminence.

  • 09.03.2022 Bridgend @ Hobos
  • 10.03.2022 Bournemouth @ The Anvil
  • 11.03.2022 Birmingham @ Asylum 2
  • 12.03.2022 Manchester @ Star And Garter
  • 13.03.2022 Glasgow @ The Garage Attic
  • 15.03.2022 Leeds @ The Key Club
  • 16.03.2022 Nottingham @ The Old Salutation
  • 17.03.2022 Bristol @ Rough Trade
  • 18.03.2022 London @ Boston Music Room
  • 19.03.2022 Brighton @ Green Door Store

Buy tickets now at http://www.avianaofficial.com/

Scroll to Top