Commanding heavyweights ATARKA are poised to drop their striking new EP, The Mountain, out Friday 14th April. The band have also set loose their furious new single and video, The Nethermost Blight. Watch the video here.

Hailing from Birmingham, ATARKA were originally conceived in 2018 and initially comprised of Daniel McCarthy (guitar), Adam Bayliss (bass), Jamie Smith (vocals), Alex Dutton (guitar), and Phil Sheldon (drums). Following the completion of the new record, Daniel McCarthy left the band for new horizons, but this opened the door for Haydn Edwards to step up and put his stamp on the bands’ live endeavors. Dispatching a sound that is massively immersing, varied, and undeniably imposing, ATARKA throw down weighty slabs of groove-tinged crushing metal that shifts, twists and delivers every step of the way.

The burly riff beasts set loose their debut album, Sleeping Giant, in 2020, and the record put the monstrous quintet on the map by drawing high praise from the UK underground. Passionate live performances soon followed and have increased the band’s rising profile. With lyrical topics based around the human condition and universal life events, ATARKA are as honest as they are creative, and this ‘heart on your sleeve’ approach has only strengthened bonds and connections with their ever-expanding following.

ATARKA will now rise up with their game-changing new EP, The Mountain. The record is a vigorous journey that powerfully strikes the senses. The first single lifted from the EP, Barbarian , featured guest vocals by Björn Strid (Soilwork), the track brought much praise and strong support from Kerrang! Radio, Total Rock, Amazing Radio, and other prominent media outlets, and the EP has also picked up early critical acclaim from Metal Hammer, describing the record as “thunderously epic modern metal”.  

The band will tour the record this Summer, as 2023 promises to be a stellar year for ATARKA.


Pre-order ‘The Mountain’ –


‘The Mountain’ EP track listing: 1) A Throne Of Disgrace, 2) The Nethermost Blight, 3) Barbarian (ft Bjorn Strid), 4) The Mountain.

Scroll to Top