Imposing bruisers ATARKA return with their formidable new EP, The Mountain, out Friday 14th April. The EP is backed by the band’s ferocious new single and video, Barbarian, out now. The track features guest vocals by Björn Strid (Soilwork). Watch the video here.

Looking to take over your world from their base camp in Birmingham, ATARKA were originally formed in 2018 and initially comprised of Daniel McCarthy (guitar), Adam Bayliss (bass), Jamie Smith (vocals), Alex Dutton (guitar), and Phil Sheldon (drums). Following the completion of the new record, Daniel McCarthy left the band for new horizons, but this opened the door for Haydn Edwards to step up and etch his mark on the bands’ live endeavours. Possessing a sound that is hugely engulfing, diverse and completely commanding, ATARKA hurl out weighty slabs of groove-tinged bruising metal that twists, contorts and delivers at every turn.

The brawny riff beasts set loose their debut album, Sleeping Giant, in 2020, and the record put the monstrous quintet on the map by attracting lavish praise from the UK underground. Intense live performances soon followed and have increased the band’s emerging profile. With lyrical themes based around the human condition and universal life events, ATARKA are as candid as they are creative, and this ‘heart on your sleeve’ approach has only strengthened bonds and ties with their ever-expanding following.

ATARKA will now rise up with their game-changing new EP, The Mountain. The record is a vehement journey that boldly attacks the senses.  The band remark: “‘The Mountain’ represents the deluge of seemingly unconquerable challenges that we as people are faced with (and overcome) in life. Many major world events transpired during the writing of the record, and it also exists in some ways as a reflection of that. It’s more evolved than our past work but still contains the core of the sound that we set out on our debut.”

A number of potent singles and videos will soon be lifted from the EP, and the band plan on touring the record this Spring. 2023 will be absolutely massive for ATARKA.


Pre-order ‘The Mountain’ –


‘The Mountain’ EP track listing: 1) A Throne Of Disgrace, 2) The Nethermost Blight, 3) Barbarian (ft Bjorn Strid), 4) The Mountain.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top